A Brilliant No Cost Gift To Give Yourself

A while ago a photo of a crying child popped up on my Newsfeed, the caption was ‘Don’t wish they were different, wish that you were better.’ While I like the sentiment that you should accept your kids ‘warts and all’, the second part rankled with me. The idea that parents get exasperated with their kids at times means they are not good enough is simply not true. We are all human, and sometimes we get on each other’s nerves. Grown ups may as well live on another planet to children, given the differences in the way they see the world. Having stupid mix ups over, what boils down to, variant points of view, is inevitable from time to time. Beating yourself up about it just adds to the tiredness and anxiety that put you in that frame of mind.

So, if your mood sometimes gets in the way of peaceful parenting, then that is just because you are human. The answer is not to be better. It is to recognise when you are in a bad frame of mind and ease up on yourself and your kids. Wherever possible, and it usually is, pull back from an argument and leave it a while rather than locking into an ego battle. Be kind to yourself and your mood will naturally elevate.

The gift of self acceptance has a positive ripple effect in every area of life, including parenting.

A very merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you xxxxxx

IMG_1536.JPG

Tell yourself that you are enough. Because at this time of year it is easy to entertain doubts. Is ________ enough?

The Christmas List
Did you stock up on enough food, enough drink?
Did you buy enough presents?
Did you spend enough money?
Is there enough time?
Will everyone feel loved enough?
Am I doing enough?
Am I providing enough?

The New Year List
Did I do enough last year?
Did I earn enough last year?
Am I rich enough?
Am I thin enough?
Am I grateful enough?
Am I patient enough?
Am I working enough?
Am I present enough?

Let me answer those questions.

Yes.

It is enough.

You are enough.

So is everyone else.

Step away from the calculator. Stop adding up all the good and bad that you did this year, this week, today. Stop making notes to do X, Y, and Z.

If you truly accept…

View original post 84 more words

Leave a Reply

